News

CIF & CPI Webinar on how to enable fast and cost-effective deployment of geothermal

Drilling crew at Menengai, Kenya (source: flickr/ GDC5000)
Alexander Richter 21 Sep 2015

Climate Investment Funds and Climate Policy Initiative will host a webinar on the effective delivery of public finance from policymakers and development finance institutions to enable fast and cost-effective deployment of geothermal in developing countries.

Climate Investment Funds (CIF) and Climate Policy Initiative (CPI) are inviting to a webinar. It will share recommendations on the effective delivery of public finance from policy makers and development finance institutions to enable fast and cost-effective deployment of geothermal in developing countries.

It draws lessons from case studies of geothermal projects with different public, private and mixed development models in Turkey, Kenya and Indonesia. Geothermal energy has the potential to provide significant amounts of low-carbon, low-cost electricity in many developing countries. It is broadly cost competitive with fossil fuel alternatives across the world and is the cheapest source of available power in some developing countries with rapidly growing energy demand. It can also provide a clean, reliable and flexible power source that could directly replace coal or gas in the electricity mix and complement higher penetrations of other, intermittent, renewable sources on the grid. However, it is not reaching its potential in developing countries. This webinar explores the barriers to geothermal deployment and ways of addressing them.

Registration:

  • Tuesday, September 29 at 11:00 Brussels time (10:00 London, 12:00 Nairobi, 16:00 Jakarta) – Register here
  • Tuesday, September 29 at 16:00 Brussels time (10:00 Washington/ DC, 15:00 London, 17:00 Nairobi, 21:00 Jakarta) – Register here

CIF_Logo_CMYK-copy-transparent

CPI_logo_RGB-transparent