PLN assigned three geothermal working areas of total up to 70 MW

Old copper mine in Ranau, West Lampung, Indonesia (source: flickr/ Evangeline Henry Gunsalam, creative commons)
Alexander Richter 23 Jul 2018

Indonesia's Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources has assigned three geothermal working areas with a combined planned capacity of 70 MW to state-owned electricity company PLN.

As announced this morning from Indonesia, the country’s Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources has again assigned state-owned electricity company PLN the management of three geothermal working areas (WKP).

The three areas are WKP Gunung Sirung with a planned power generation capacity of 5 MW, Ranau Lake (55 MW), and Oka Ile Ange (10 MW).

Ida Nuryatin Finahari, the Director of Geothermal at the ministry’s Directorate General of New Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation, said her staffers had evaluated the plan on PLN to develop the three areas and officially assigned the task to the company.

Ida said her staffers were currently conduction socialization with the regional government in the three working areas to begin the geothermal development.

Earlier, PLN had had a permit to manage eight geothermal working areas. These areas are WKP Mataloko 22.5 MW, Atedei 10 MW, and Ulumbu 50 MW in East Nusa Tenggara; Songa Wayaua 10 MW in North Maluku; Mount Tangkuban Perahu 60 MW in West Java; Tulehu 2×10 MW in Ambon; Ungaran 55 MW in Central Java and Kepahiang 110 MW in Bengkulu.

Source: Tempo