EOI for applications, East Africa Geothermal Risk Mitigation Facility closes July 15, 2020

Map with projects funded by GRMF rounds 1 to 5 (source: GRMF)
Alexander Richter 21 May 2020

With the 6th application round for funding under the Geothermal Risk Mitigation Facility (GRMF) for East Africa, the deadline for submission of expressions of interest is July 15, 2020.

The Geothermal Risk Mitigation Facility for East Africa (GRMF) launched its sixth Application Round on 6 May 2020. The deadline for the submission of the Expressions of Interest (EoI) is scheduled for 16:00 H Ethiopian Time on 15 July 2020.

The African Union Commission (AUC) via the Regional Geothermal Coordination Unit (RGCU) invites public or private organisation as well as public private partnerships to submit an Expression of Interest (EoI) to pre-qualify for financing support. More information on the Expression of Interest can be found on the GRMF-Homepage.  You will also find all necessary documents there. If you did not have the opportunity to participate in the Kick-Off Webinar for the sixth Application Round, a recording of the event is available here.

The opening of the Expressions of Interest is scheduled for 16:00 H Ethiopian Time on 15th July 2020.

All inquiries regarding the application process can be sent to one  of the following e-mail addresses:

 Deadline for all inquiries is on, or before 12:00H (noon) on 1st July 2020, Ethiopian time.

The GRMF was launched in April 2012 and is implemented in a series of application rounds. It is hosted and managed by the African Union Commission (AUC). Funding is provided by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) together with the EU-Africa Infrastructure Trust Fund (EU Africa ITF) via KfW Development Bank (KfW), and the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

The objective of the facility is to encourage public and private investors as well as public private partnerships to develop geothermal prospects for geothermal power generation in GRMF eligible countries of Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. With the start of the sixth Application Round, Somalia has now also been included as an eligible country. The GRMF programme comprises approx. 122 million USD available for funding of surface studies, exploration drilling projects and infrastructure upgrades.

Source: information sent by email