Five companies nominated for the European Geothermal Innovation Award 2016

Award ceremony, European Geothermal Innovation Award 2015, Offenburg/ Germany (source: EGEC)
Alexander Richter 7 Feb 2016

Five companies have been nominated for the European Geothermal Energy Innovation Award to be announced at the GeoTHERM expo & congress February 25, 2016 in Offenburg, Germany.

The European Geothermal Energy Council in cooperation with the GeoTHERM expo & congress, has announced the endorsed Nominations for the European Geothermal Innovation Award, which will be awarded at the GeoTHERM 2016 event in Offenburg/ Germany later this month..

This year’s European Geothermal Innovation Award jury have selected the maximum number of five endorsed nominations from the nominations received. The names on the 2016 shortlist are, in alphabetical order:

  • Exergy S.p.A. (IT), for the 2-pressure-level cycle on a single-disk turbine demonstrated in Denizli Tosunlar geothermal plant.
  • Fangmann Energy Services GmbH & Co. KG (DE), for novel stimulation with acids, and related accessory developments (spacer, cement, fiberglass casing).
  • geoKOAX GmbH (DE), for the geoKOAX heat exchanger, a larger diameter BHE with high fluid volume.
  • Jaske & Wolf Verfahrenstechnik GmbH (DE), for the use of water from drawdown-wells in deep open-pit mining for a small district heating system in Bergheim, DE.
  • Turboden S.r.l. (IT), for new ORC technology to ramp down output on demand, and new smart grid technology.

Nominations for the award are assessed on grounds of originality, innovation, reliability, reduction of emissions, and improvements in energy output. The Jury will now deliberate to select an overall winner which will be announced on 25th February.

Designed as an opportunity for industry peers to acknowledge innovation, and for the most exciting ideas to be widely publicised, the European Geothermal Innovation Award is the seal of excellence applied to the most intelligent and important ideas in research and industry which will play a key role in the future development of geothermal energy.

“This year, the quality of nominations was again high, and virtually no entry was below the threshold to be considered as endorsed nomination” said Dr Burkhard Sanner, President of EGEC and member of the Jury. “However, as the maximum length of the shortlist set forth in the rules is 5 names, the jury had the difficult task to select the very best. I was somewhat surprised to see that the five companies making it on the list are from two countries only, Germany and Italy. The topics range from shallow geothermal to electric power production. As second step of its task the jury now has to agree on the final winner, to be announced during the opening ceremony of GeoTHERM 2016 in Offenburg, Germany.”

The jury for 2016 is composed of Adele Manzella (Italy), Halime Paksoy (Turkey), Ladislaus Rybach (Switzerland), Burkhard Sanner (EGEC), and Sandra Kircher (Messe Offenburg).

The European Geothermal Innovation Award is an initiative from the European Geothermal Energy Council in collaboration with Messe Offenburg, organisers of the GeoTHERM fair and congress.

Details about the event can be found here.

Source: GeoTHERM via LinkedIn