Indonesia announces 9 new geothermal working areas

Indonesia announces 9 new geothermal working areas Jakarta, Indonesia (source: flickr/ yohanes budiyanto, creative commons)
Francisco Rojas 4 Jun 2014

The Minister for Energy and Mineral Resources has reinforced that with the new 9 concessions, they are doing a clear push for geothermal development in Indonesia.

In local news from Indonesia, the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources today handed decree regarding geothermal energy management to the heads of local governments in the Indonesia Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation (EBTKE) Conex 2014.

The decree contains nine geothermal mining working areas spread throughout Indonesia. Minister Jero Wacik said Indonesia’s future energy needs will rely on renewable energy.

“Our future can not rely anymore in oil, gas and coal. We must switch to renewable energy which never run out,” said Jero while giving a speech in Indonesia EBTKE Conex 2014 at the Jakarta Convention Center in Senayan, Jakarta, according to the news source.

Jero said Indonesia has a lot of potential for new and renewable energy. But only five to six percent are processed into energy sources.

All nine new geothermal working areas could potentially increment 1030 MW of geothermal potential, There

1. Geraho Nyabu, Kerinci, Jambi, – 200 MW.
2. Gunung Talang, Bukit Kili, Solok, Sumatra Barat, – 65 MW.
3. Gunung Arjuno Welirang, Pasuruan, Malang, Jawa Timur, – 185 MW.
4. Gunung Pandan, Madiun, Jawa Timur, – 60 MW.
5. Gunung Wilis, Jawa Timur, – 50 MW.
6. Gunung Songkoroti, Blitar, Malang, Jawa Timur, – 35 MW.
7. Gunung Gde Pangrango, Jawa Barat, – 85 MW.
8. Gungung Hamiding, Halmahera Utara, – 265 MW.
9. Telaga Rano, Halmahera Utara, – 85 MW.

Source: Metro TV News Website