Kenya introduces two new regulatory authorities relevant to geothermal

City center of Nairobi, Kenya (source: flickr/ Ninara, creative commons)
Alexander Richter 13 Mar 2019

The new Energy Bill in Kenya, signed into effect this week, establishes two new national entities relevant to the geothermal sector in Kenya. Both will be regulating Kenya's energy resources, e.g. generation, transmission, distribution, as well as sourcing additional funds for renewable energy development.

As reported by The East African, President Uhuru Kenyatta yesterday assented to three key bills including Energy Bill 2017, which establishes three national entities to manage and regulate Kenya’s energy resources.

The law establishes the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority, the Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation and the Nuclear Power and Energy Agency.

There are two relevant authorities to the geothermal sector. The Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority, which will regulate generation, importation, exportation, transmission, distribution, supply and use of electrical energy with the exception of the licensing of nuclear facilities.

It will also regulate importation, refining, exportation, transportation, storage and sale of petroleum and petroleum products with the exception of crude oil, as well as manage production, conversion, distribution, supply, marketing and use of renewable energy.

The Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation will undertake tasks including overseeing the implementation of the Rural Electrification Programme, managing the Rural Electrification Programme Fund and sourcing for additional funds for the programme and renewable energy.

The Nuclear Power and Energy Agency will be responsible for the possible implementation of a nuclear power programme.

Source: The East African