Record number of attendees at Turkish Renewable Energy Congress 2011

Exergy receiving the Geothermal Service Provider award of the Turkish International Renewable Energy Awards at TIREC 2011 (source: TIREC)
Alexander Richter 7 Oct 2011

The Turkish Renewable Energy Congress 2011 (TIREC) and the GeoPower Turkey event held in late September in Istanbul, Turkey saw a record number of attendees with more than 500 senior level energy professionals attending.

In late September the third annual Turkish International Renewable Energy Congress (TIREC) saw over 500 senior level renewable energy professionals descend on Istanbul. The congress also saw a special geothermal focused event the GeoPower Turkey event.

Leaders from the wind, solar, geothermal and bioenergy fields met with senior Turkish decision makers including MPs from the Turkish Grand National Assembly (TBMM) – Dr. Soner Aksoy, Duru Ozbolat, Prof. Dr. Alim Isik, Semiha Oyus and the Deputy Industry Minister Prof. Dr. Davut Kavranoglu – to discuss the passing of the amendments to the Renewable Energy Law in December 2010, the government’s push for local manufacturing and burgeoning renewable energy markets not only in Turkey but also the neighbouring Balkans and Middle East.

“The third annual event was our best yet with engaging conference sessions, a buzzing exhibition hall and excellent opportunities for the industry to meet and share ideas for the growth of renewables in Turkey” said Fatih Aydin, Turkish Country Manager at Green Power Conferences.

TIREC 2011 also featured the Turkish International Renewable Energy Awards, which celebrate the tremendous wave of innovation and ingenuity occurring across clean energy projects in Turkey. “We are so glad to receive this award for our successful project for Celikler Holding.

This is an outstanding binary geothermal plant, with technological features different from any other in the world, and we are happy to make it in Turkey, one of the faster-growing green markets nowadays” remarks Claudio Spadacini, Chief Executive Officer of Exergy and winner of the Geothermal Service Provider award. To view the full list of winners, please visit our website.