U.S. National Geothermal Summit 2015 – speakers announced

U.S. National Geothermal Summit 2015 – speakers announced Screenshot from GEA's website
Francisco Rojas 8 Apr 2015

The GEA has announced many speakers for the US National Geothermal Summit of 2015. The 2015 Summit theme is “Geothermal Policies as Stimulus for Economic Growth and Environmental Quality.”

Yesterday, the Geothermal Energy Association (GEA) announced many speakers for its fifth annual National Geothermal Summit. Paul Thomsen, director, Nevada Governor’s Office of Energy; Commissioner David Hochschild, California Energy Commission; Karen Edson, vice president, Policy and Client Services, California ISO; and other western state energy leaders will address attendees at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino in Reno, Nev. on June 3-4, 2015.

The National Geothermal Summit is the leading forum for western state policy discussions, bringing together the geothermal industry for a dialogue with state and federal policy makers and is widely attended by the geothermal community, state regulators, federal legislators and utilities. The 2015 Summit theme is “Geothermal Policies as Stimulus for Economic Growth and Environmental Quality.” The event is made possible by co-host Ormat and with the support of the Economic Development Authority of Western Nevada (EDAWN), Great Basin Center for Geothermal Energy, Western Area Power Administration, UC Davis California Geothermal Collaborative, and the Geothermal Resources Council.

“As one of the most reliable renewable technologies out there, geothermal has continued to gain traction in the ever changing political environment. At GEA’s National Geothermal Summit, we will address those policies in place and new ideas to garner more geothermal development for the U.S.,” said Karl Gawell, executive director of the GEA. “This year marks our fifth consecutive summit held in Reno and we are eager to continue the conversation in the city considered to be the hub of geothermal.”

The following speakers have also been confirmed to date: Supervisor Anthony Farrington, chair, Lake County Board of Supervisors; V. John White, executive director, CEERT; Carl Stills, energy manager, Imperial Irrigation District; Barry Dong, manager geothermal/biomass, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power; Stacey Kusters, vice president of Renewable Energy & Origination, NV Energy; Elaine Sison-Lebrilla, senior project manager, Sacramento Municipal Utility District; Rachel Dahl, executive director, Churchill Economic Development Authority; Andy Horne, deputy county executive officer, Natural Resources Development, County of Imperial; Michael Moore, Cornell expert on direct use; William Glassley, executive director, California Geothermal Energy Collaborative; Jeff Deyette, asst. director, Energy Research and Analysis, Union of Concerned Scientists; Jay Nathwani, acting director, U.S. Department of Energy Geothermal Technologies Office; Randy Keller, director of development, Transmission and Land Assets, CalEnergy; Doug Glaspey, president, COO, and director, US Geothermal; Nick Goodman, CEO, Cyrq Energy; Ken Speer, assistant general manager, Northern California Power Agency; Colin Williams, science center director, USGS; Rahm Orenstein, vice president, business development, Ormat; Video Keynote Address by Senator Dean Heller, Senator of Nevada; and Video Keynote Address by Senator Harry Reid, Senator of Nevada.

To register for the National Geothermal Summit, or for more information, please visit  Visit the Facebook event page at Join the conversation on Twitter with #GEASummit2015. For sponsorship opportunities or to request press credentials, please contact Yasmin Romitti, 202 454 5263, [email protected].

Source: Press Release by GEA